The State I Am In

By Shuji

Auschwitz-Birkenau

I got up at 4:30 in order to enter Auschwitz Museum free since the entrance fee is free if you enter by 10 o'clock. We took a train, which was quite slow as usual. To cut a long story short, I didn't get shocked as much as my acquaintance's story. However, I got shocked when I saw pictures, gas chambers, ponds for ashes, and so forth. I cannot imagine what happened even though I looked around them. And what was the smell like burnt at Birkenau? Did it smell the same 70 years ago? Anyway, it was a boiling hot day and walking made me exhausted. Sadly, today was the last day with the German girl whom I travelled together for almost one week.

25th April, 2015
The extra photo is of the notorious slogan "Arbeit Macht Frei", which means "Work Makes Free".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.