Still Here!

By Yorkhull

The HK harbour Lights

Well I have spent the day relaxing, reading the good advice of my blip friends, looking up words like shuttle speeds, aperture, ISO, etc, consulting the camera manual before setting off for the harbour and my first real attempt to take night photos.

I am not sure either me or my camera is up to it. I tried aperture priority but it only goes down to f3.4 and sometimes it did not do even that! Manual focus was too scary I could not remember the combinations and the aperture rarely went down to 3.4. I tried auto and P which were better. My iPhone in desperation which seemed even better. Anyway I had two rides on the ferry, saw the lights and saw people out enjoying the end of the mid-autumn festival which is an important occasion for the family and the eating of very rich moon cakes.

Anyway I nearly did not post any shots from my experiment. I have a long long way to go. But in the end I thought I would fall on your mercy and hope for a kindly critique.

Last day teaching tomorrow and then a couple of lighter days before setting off home. I'm nearly ready for my own bed now and then back to work and planning the wedding. Gosh so much to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.