Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Creeper

Despite my efforts last week, there is still a lot of work to be done in the lane hedge at the side of the house if I want to open it up some more. The problem is this creeper that has taken over and killed off several other plants; hawthorns, sloes and elder included. The ivy-like creeper does have a strange appeal in some ways; it is now coming into full bloom but unless you looked closely you wouldn't know it, as the flowers look very like the buds and are the same shade of green. The first thing you notice though, is the smell; somewhat akin to ammonia, and clearly designed to attract flies and wasps as pollinators, as it was covered in them this afternoon. I couldn't honestly say it was pleasant but in a strange way I still like to smell it, although I shall be doing my best to make sure there isn't much of it left to smell!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.