Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Out in the country

We seem to be very short of steam trains in this area. I see regular Blips from people in South Yorkshire who seem to have access to them on a regular basis, but there have been none to see around here for a while, and none planned for a few weeks. So when I saw that Tornado was going past today and that I would be nearby at the time, I thought I would go and have a look. I knew it wasn't actually in steam, just being moved to the Nene Valley Railway behind a diesel, but at least it was something.

I got to my level crossing in plenty of time - at least fifteen minutes before it was due. The crossing leads to a farm, and the only view is from the opposite side to my approach. As I arrived, the barriers came down. No problem, I thought. Plenty of time yet for the barriers to go up and walk to the other side. An express went past. And then another. Then a local train. Then another. Then another express. And then? Yes, you guessed it. Tornado. At speed, with no chance at all of getting even a bad shot as I saw it for about half a second between the roadside trees. Ah, the best laid plans.......

So here is a bridge. It's a very nice bridge. But it's not a steam train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.