Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Bug

Thanks for all the comments and commiserations for me for missing my train yesterday!

I spent this morning clearing away the dead and overgrown flowers from one of my borders and in the process found this caterpillar hiding on a stalk. He's about three inches long and a good half inch thick, much bigger than any I've seen before. I thought that he looked a bit as though he was staring at me and putting his tongue out, but the 'eyes' (of which there were four) were clearly just markings on the body, so I'm not even sure that the 'face' was even on the right end; could well be camouflage to confuse predators. I have to say he was a bit sluggish, but did raise one end a couple of times fairly half-heartedly. I'd love to know what he's going to be when he grows up, if anyone has any ideas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.