creative lenna

By creativelenna

Longboat Key pass

I had a hair appointment out on Longboat Key this morning and it is pretty hard for me NOT to stop at Coquina Beach at Longboat Key pass afterwards. View the Lily B larger to easily see some of the reasons why I like to stop here. This boat is out of Cortez, FL -a little fishing village around the corner.

The water is almost always a spectacular turquoise blue-green color when I visit, which I love. Today I switched to my longer 40-150 lens instead of my usual 14-42 and I am glad that I did. I also tried taking photos of the waves rolling in at various shutter speeds from 1/640 with an iso of 200 (auto) to 1/4000 with an iso of 1250. I did not take any long exposure shots, yet . . . . maybe soon! But it was interesting to try different things then examine the results when I got home. That is where I am right now. I cannot quite yet say to myself, I think I need an f/stop of such & such and a shutter speed of such & such to get what I want in this situation. I'm kind of going about it backwards, but I figure I might learn this way! If not, shooting on auto,"P" or various scene settings seems to give fine results as well. To see more of the shots I took today, go here. Beautiful place!

I carried my new satchel around with my camera in it's padded compartment today to get used to it and I think it will work out well for my travels, it's good to have it packed. My travel pillow arrived today too. I think now all I have to do is choose some clothes and pack those in Steven's rolling carry-on I'll be using. Can't wait to see my boys, their wives and then Frieda and Scotland!!! who hoo!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.