THOUGHTFUL - 1001 BLIPS CHALLENGE

There was a definite chill in the air as I opened the door from the lounge to the conservatory and I had noticed from the bedroom window that there was quite a thick mist hanging over the trees outside our garden - the chill was even more pronounced when I open the door into the garden!

I do love Autumn (or Fall, as our American and Canadian friends call it - and which makes sense really!) with the mist, colours and smells that come with it.

It brought back memories of when we used to go up into the forest, walk through the fallen leaves and kick them about and then play Hide and Seek. Then I started thinking of the last time that we went there with Mr. HCB’s father - almost 40 years ago now, which fits in very well with the 1001 Blips Challenge today - THOUGHTFUL.

Harry was a wonderful father-in-law and Grandfather and loved our two boys. We often took Mr. HCB’s parents out in the car, as they didn’t have one, and one of our favourite places was Marlborough Forest. We would pack up a picnic and on this occasion, I remember we had a great time, with Grandad climbing up onto an old tree trunk with the boys, despite being 70 and to the consternation of Grandma.

It’s strange that when people were 70 almost 40 years ago, they seemed old, but now that Mr. HCB is that age (and a bit more) he seems quite young - well young at heart anyway!

So back to our garden - the flowers are beginning to go over, seed heads are forming and looking at this photograph, I can see there are lots of things to be done before winter sets in - only two more days of cricket and then Mr. HCB and I will be out there, cutting down, burning, pruning trees and repainting fences and garden furniture. It’s going to be a busy time! This photograph is SOOC with nothing done to it except adding the vignette.

“I saw old Autumn in the misty morn
Stand shadowless like silence, listening
To silence, for no lonely bird would sing
Into his hollow ear from woods forlorn,
Nor lowly hedge nor solitary thorn; --
Shaking his languid locks all dewy bright
With tangled gossamer that fell by night,
Pearling his coronet of golden corn.”
Thomas Hood 1799-1845


Many thanks for all your kind comments, virtual stars and hearts yesterday - my rose hit the Spotlight, but sadly, I didn’t see it - I was asleep at the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.