Found a peanut!

Peanuts are a popular treat at the Bird Bistro. As I explained to Leo earlier, my mantra for capturing bird blips is patience, persistence, and peanuts, and today's picture is proof that it works. The sky was a heavy grey blanket all day after persistent heavy rain last night. I thought things would improve as the day went on, so I waited and waited, but that got me nowhere. I ended up sitting on my patio bench, wearing a heavy sweatshirt, and experimenting with the best approach for blipping hummingbirds when there was very little light to provide the fast shutter speed I needed. I shot a lot of hummers, but this is the only one that looked sharp enough to post. That's why you are seeing the self-satisfied brown bird with a peanut in his beak. Hope to see a little sun tomorrow, but who knows. Summer is definitely over and gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.