Skip's Blips

By Skip

I thought yesterday...

...was gloomy and grey, but that was nothing compared to the heavy cloud cover, low light, and chilly air we experienced this afternoon. I sat outside on my bench for over an hour until the chill drove me inside to make a mug of cocoa. Because of the light, getting sharp, well-focused pictures was a challenge, but I experimented with various settings and it was a learning experience. The blipstar today is a mystery bird to me; I'm thinking it's a finch, but I need to do some research. I chose him (or her) to post because I think the feathers are lovely and striking. I posted a few others in my SmugMug gallery, if you want to look. This little one is another of my favorites. Love the fluffiness! It must be a very young nuthatch.

Hummingbird update: In the hour or so that I sat outside, I didn't see any hummers. How sad is that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.