Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Ode to a Leaf

Dear Diary,

Despite my little detour into a Spring-like frame of mind, I am fully engaged with the Autumn season. I bought daffodil bulbs this morning to plant and the cool grey day feels more like November than September.

Here in Maine September and October is all about the leaf. Very soon the "leaf peepers" will be turning my normally quiet road into a busy thoroughfare. The people in the know say that conditions are right this year for a spectacular show of fall color. So, today I offer Brother Bartleby's poem to contemplate...

Ode to a Leaf

I couldn't see the forest
for the trees
and couldn't see the trees
for the leaves
and couldn't see the leaves
for the cells
and couldn't see the cells
for the cytoplasm
and couldn't see the cytoplasm
for the forest
that I held in my hand
that I called
a leaf
that was filled
with more wonder
than my mind
knew how to
grasp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.