Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Mile Sunset


It's wife's day off today, and she wanted the day to do stuff around the house and sort her packing out before we leave at midnight. She gave me the nod that I could work and 'go and take some photo's'!

Just after 9.30am I had a call out. The weather was very overcast and dropped a few celcius to about 14. I had a late breakfast when I got back home and then got stuck into my packing. I always find the biggest problem is the hand luggage weight, but at least they now allow you to keep a laptop separate. We haven't flown since they changed the rules and you now have to demonstrate it works.

The daughter, Hannah, who lives and works in Southampton had been staying with her long time friend in Cardiff, and on the way back home popped in to see us. That was nice, but it happens all to infrequently.

Much to my surprise we've had another nice sunset tonight. The blip photo is taken on the A468 just as it enters the Lower Machen Straight or Mile as it's locally known. I quite like how the white lines take you through the picture to the sunset.

We are flying from Gatwick at 7am, for a weeks sailing around the Turkish coast followed by a week in a hotel. We've done this a couple of times before, so hopefully this time will be as good. The wi-fi the first week will be sporadic (when we moor up near a village if we're lucky) so it's a case of uploading blips as and when I can. Although we have a cabin, you can sleep on deck under the stars. I'm hoping for some nice Turkish sunsets at sea, and maybe a starscape if the boat doesn't rock too much!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.