My day

By 59

Propagation

I have always liked mucking around with plants. About 6 months ago I repotted my African Violets and saved these leaves in the aim of getting some new plants. I put some in water and they grew roots quickly and they are in the big pots. They all survived but there are no new leaves. The others I put into a mix of seed raise mix and perlite and although I have lost some, the rest have new baby leaves. There are also 2 balsam plants I grew from seed and kept alive over winter. Now they all need repotting. It takes time!

The big news of the day is we have finally taken out a large hedge from the front yard. It was growing so well we couldn't get past it. Bob chopped it back a month ago and today I dug out the first 5 stumps and Bob got the rest. Mine were hard work and my arms and wrists are aching from lifting the heavy mattock, crow bar and other necessary garden tools. This is where I am going to plant my new roses and cottage garden plants so I will have more flowers.

I have a few email addresses, one I rarely use as I get a lot of junk mail. I just opened it and there are 250 to read! I hope there isn't anything important waiting for a reply.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.