A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

Madness on the Road

One of the main factors is coming to the lake district was that we were able to take the bikes and actually spend some time on them, so today we headed to Grizedale. The journey has to be one of the worst car journeys in my life, purely down to the roads. It was single track road the whole way with blind corners and summits...it was one of the most nerve wracking experiences and I can't imagine how Rory felt in the drivers seat!

We were aiming to do some mountain biking as Grizedale has specifically built mountain bike trails, however all the trails were more advanced than what I normally do where ever we go. This meant that the day would be spent cycling along fire roads, which I was okay with by Rory wasn't finding much fun. We ended up getting lost from the route that we'd planned as we'd followed the wrong coloured signs from the beginning and we stumbled upon the red mountain bike route. After very little persuading, Rory was leading the way down a more technical mountain bike route than I've been down before and I was loving it. There was this one particularly rocky section which I loved, but Rory didn't think I would like and make it over....I loved being able to see the progression I've been making!

Across the day, we cycled 15.8 miles some of which was extremely off road (wading through bushes with the bikes) but the majority was on the fire roads. There's hidden natural art hidden throughout the woods at Grizedale, so as you cycle around you pass bears carved out of wood and masks hidden in amongst trees which is pretty cool.

We headed home on a completely different road and stopped off at a cute little village for some munchies and to have a wander around the shops. I didn't take a photo today as we were too busy getting lost on the bikes, so I stole this photo from Rory. It's the caravan we've been staying in for the week and it's beautiful inside. More people should rent caravans, this is one of the best holidays I've ever had!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.