A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

Kayaking Time!

Today has been without a doubt, the best day of the holiday so far! It's been epic.

We started the day with some shopping in Keswick whilst we passed the time before the launch boat left for Hawes End, then we climbed Catbells. The view from the top is incredible! The walk involves a bit of scrambling up steep sections but it is so worth when you reach the top. We had lunch looking out on one of the most beautiful views in the world! The descent involves some scrambling too, however, Rory and I walked quickly as the launch boat back is only once an hour and we didn't want to wait around for ages. We ended up being early for the boat so we walked along the side of Derwent water to the next launch stop and got the boat back to Nichol End.

At Nichol End, we rented a kayak for an hour and went for a paddle around the lake. It is easily the most fun I've ever had. Rory kept moaning that I was soaking him every time I paddled in our two man kayak, but I was trying my best! We ended up in a deep and very rough part of the lake, however the waves made the kayak even more fun! We stopped to ask a lady who was playing with her dogs in the lake if she could take a picture of us; I imagine not many people will have a photo of them in a kayak in their collection.

After we'd arrived back on dry land and dried off a little, we got the launch back to Keswick, headed back to the car and then headed to Whinlatter for another round of biking before we went home for the night. I had a little mishap and ended up crashing into a fence, but overall I felt faster and more confident on the bike than I ever have. I love seeing myself progress on the bike!

I treated us to dinner at the Italian restaurant in Keswick as we headed home. Some of the best food I've ever eaten; cheese fondue followed by pasta in my kind of heaven! We had a lazy night when we eventually home to the caravan. We watched multiple episodes of Would I Lie to You? and ended up in hysterics!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.