Life Savors

By osuzanna

The Spirit

I met a former colleague for coffee this morning in Rockville Town Center, which is not far from our house and is the Montgomery County seat. I allowed myself some time to walk around and take a few photos and came across this large statue, which I have probably driven past many times, but never looked at closely.

This neoclassical style statue which was erected in 1996 and is in the Courthouse Square Park outside the historic Old Courthouse. It is a fountain, but I don’t think I have ever seen the water running. It is called “the Spirit of Rockville.”

The City of Rockville adopted the "Art in Public Architecture" and "Art in Public Places" ordinances in 1978. It was one of the first cities in the nation to do so. I was quite delighted to learn that apparently this is one of more than 40 pieces of public artwork sitting within the city’s limits.

…. so now it seems as though I will have to go looking for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.