Stevens Shots

By StevenC44

Scotland Decides

Hi everyone!

So it's here! The day of the Scottish independence referendum has finally arrived! I have to say, I've found the past few weeks very interesting in terms of debates and stuff, and I've really enjoyed discussing it with my friends and peers! I got to vote for the first time ever today, and I proudly voted 'Yes', which is the view I've had since the start of the campaign.

In the beginning, there was me and only like, 2 or 3 other yes voters in my entire year - the rest were either no or undecided. Now, a majority of them are yes! I'm not going to go into much detail, as I don't want to start an online debate, but I simply believe Scotland can be a more prosperous place with independence.

That said, if we do get it, I'd like to wish the rest of the UK well! An interesting side note: Two of my very close friends are English, one is voting yes and the other is voting no! I have to say, it's made me proud to see how seriously my generation have taken this, and also how much most of them have thought about it and researched. However, it's also nice to see how much - at least in my school - we respect each other's views and opinions!

It's been a very intense campaign, especially in these last few months. I feel really excited to have been involved in such a massive part of Scotland's history, and I'm really excited/anxious to see the results, which won't be revealed till about 6AM tomorrow!

I hope I'm part of what will hopefully be known as 'Generation Yes', and whatever the result tomorrow, the great nation of Scotland will be changed forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.