Bob20

By Bob20

Ashford Mill & barn

It has been a busy day here. Monday always is as we spend all day doing maintenance around the place. I have been severely hampered by pain in my hamstrings which I thought would have cleared by now. I must do more to keep fit.

As a consequence I have not been off the premises today, so here is a blip of our recently completed restoration of a Derbyshire barn, and behind it, a wing of our watermill.

We have established that the watermill was present in this position in 1086 and we have found maps showing it from 1616 to the present day, and it has changed very little.

The barn was totally derelict when we purchased the property and is now my workshop and den. Mrs Bob knows where to find me though:) Hopefully, we will begin the restoration of the mill next Spring.

Thank you for your comments over the last couple of days. Unfortunately, I have not replied to them all yet, but it is high on my to do list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.