Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Oreti Beach

I have been in Invercargill for a conference and after it finished today I drove to Oreti Beach. I might have been there as a kid but I don't recall,

Like a number of beaches in NZ you can drive on it, which is cool. In fact, if you have seen the movie "The worlds fastest Indian", this is where Burt Munro raced his bike. Actually, this is the reason I came to the beach, although I didn't go as fast as him. The sped limit is 'technically' now 30km, so slow! Burt would be turning in his grave
;-)

So of course, I has to go for a drive. Interestingly, there were shellfish scattered everywhere. Toheroa (toe-e-row-a) as far as the eye could see, although you are no longer allowed to gather them because they are said to be scare. They didn't appear to be. I took loads of photos, but instead chose this one of the car as a memento of my day.

And no Thrifty Car Rentals, this isn't your car, I would never drive your car on a beach ... it's replica ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.