Wednesday facts and figures

I have a big file of house earthquake stuff and that was today's inspiration.

- $16,000 is how much it cost my insurance company for my accommodation (2 days less than 3 months) while my home was repaired. That doesn't include the cost of storing the contents of my home, movers or repairing the mattress damaged by the movers. And that was all for repairs at the minor end of the spectrum. I hope the round about of money between different bank accounts in Canterbury isn't counted as part of our "rock star economy".

- Ball park EQC house repairs $28,000. That I'm told is for the cheapest repair strategy, but not necessarily the best strategy. That is yet to be played out as some repairs are already not sticking (so to speak). I'm not too worried. If they don't work then they come back and maybe do a different strategy. Cost effective? No, but that is how EQC and Fletchers work.

- Cost to me to repair my roof $4, 600 (apparently caused by the quakes but not due to the quakes. Yes, I'm lost too). Unfortunately the roof over the dormer window in my room still leaks. Fortunately I won't have to pay more unless the problem is not related to the issues identified in the roof inspection

- Cost I have to bear to replace my burned, chopped and cut carpet damaged by sub-contractors during my house repairs will be $1, 185.00. That doesn't include extras like putting the cat into the Cat Hotel for a couple of nights. No one said life was fair and other people are dealing with much worse

- Cost to me to repair leak(s) in the back wall of home (that didn't leaks before the quakes), $2, 100. Apparently the quakes affected my sliding doors at ground level but not between downstairs and upstairs. Go figure but that's the way it is.

- Value of moving on from all of this, priceless :-)

If that makes my head spin then these slow it down:

- 7 big sleeps until the 2014-2015 fishing season begins

- 9 big sleeps until I head to Lake Benmore for the first weekend of the fishing season

- 30 big sleeps until Dad comes to visit

- 37 big sleeps until the high country fishing season opens.

Oh, and the water damaged curtains were replaced today by brand spanking new curtains. And yesterday my repaired dressing table came home.

Very nice :-)

Yesterday's white baiting and fishing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.