My Angle

By myangle

My Guitar

Firstly, thanks for all the comments yesterday. I got a lot of feedback from friends and family too. I was a bit surprised really. Sometimes it is interesting that what you consider yourself to be a bit ordinary is seen in a different light by others.

Today I needed a few photos of my guitar for a college project so I asked a good friend of mine who is a photographer if I could borrow his studio for a few minutes. I felt like a kid in a candy shop. It is that long since I have done anything in a studio. Maybe 10 years. I also felt a little bit under the hammer because he was in the middle of using the studio to shoot some products. I had to drop my guitar into his backdrop and lighting. To make it worse, he stood and watched while I took photos.

Anyway, I got what I needed: an image I can easily remove from the background.

1/160th sec, f16, 200ISO, 28-105mm lens @ 73mm, studio light with softbox, Canon 350D

Today was not fun at college. We had Quark and Freehand. Ugh to both! Especialy Freehand. It isn't really the software, it was more the instructions for the exercises. I just could not follow them and really struggled while the rest of the class romped ahead. I know what most of them where doing. They were just looking at the supplied printed sample and replicating it. Me, I like to do things by the book which is probably my downfall.
All the jobs I do at work are close to perfect from a technical point of view, but usually lacking creatively. I am OK with that. I never set out to be a designer. It probably doesn't help that I am literally twice the ago of most of the students. As I get older I find it harder to absorb new ideas and techniques.

Where was I?

Maybe tomorrow I should just follow the lead of my classmates and do what looks right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.