mef13

By mef13

Who's for coffee?

Those that follow my thoughts on FaceBook will know of my passion for coffee, and how no day is complete without a fix of espresso at some stage.
It's not that I am desperate for an injection of caffeine, yet I always feel that a leisurely coffee helps me relax or deal with the pressures of the day. Even when there are no particular anxieties, and at my stage of life there should be none to speak of.
So you are more than likely to find me at my favourite coffee shop, Arrosto di Caffe, maybe mid morning, occasionally in the afternoon. I don't go for the expensive coffees with fancy names, simply a straightforward double espresso. Black, strong and with no sugar.
I have to admit that I did learn my lesson when on one occasion I had three or four large espresso one after the other while lunching with friends, and then moved on to visit relatives, where I was invited to take yet another espresso. Suddenly, without warning I felt up to my ears in coffee and realised I had overdosed on caffeine. My wife had to drive me home; I fear I would have been as incapable as I might have been had I been partaking of alcohol.
So dear friends, don't despair when you see me in the coffee shop. It may not be quite the same as a glass of Pinot or Bordeaux, but for me it is an everyday tonic and I certainly miss it on those days I cannot walk around the shopping centre and take a seat whichever town I am in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.