Rose-hip treat

Did you ever collect rose-hips like these?  I can remember scouring the hedgerows near my home many years ago and have a vague recollection of taking them to school and being paid the princely sum of threepence, in old money for every lb in weight of them.
From what I remember it was a countrywide scheme after the second world war which encouraged school children to collect rosehips.
They were used to make rose-hip syrup which contains loads of vitamin C, amid worries at the time that children particularly would not be getting sufficient vitamins because imported oranges and lemons were either not available or subsequent rationing after the war meant they were in short supply.
I believe that as kids we could also become members of a rose-hip collectors’ clubs and could earn badges according to how many rose-hips we collected.
I believe the rose-hip gathering collections went on through the 1950s.
This collection of rose-hips caught my eye on the way home from an early morning shopping trip, and brought back a flood of distant memories.

Then for the real treat, I seem to recall that the 3d I had earned would buy me an ice cream on my way home from junior school!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.