Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Something Warm

In view of what has happened I was delighted that the lady who has helped me by cleaning the lodge these last two Saturdays, offered to do it again today.

I took the opportunity to go up to the Care Home and collect a few things for The Mother, including this cosy bed-jacket. It also gave me a chance to talk to the staff about what had happened on Thursday. She hadn't had a fall onto the floor, but a sidewards slip in her chair and her head must have hit the table.

She had had a very difficult time and had been extremely confused about lots of things. Poor Mother!

As I was making lunch I got a call from the hospital to tell be to go up now, straight to the ward. It was an awful 45 minutes until I got there.

She had been fine this morning, talking to staff and eating her breakfast but at lunchtime she had deteriorated and when I go there she was in a deep sleep. I sat at her bedside for 6 hours and accompanied her for her second CT scan. Nothing that was done made her open her eyes or speak but her face showed a picture of pain and discomfort.

I wrapped her bed-jacket across her to help keep her warm as her temperature reading was very low.

I asked the doctor if I should stay or go home. She suggested that The Mother's condition was stable but that she has had a small epidural haemorrhage. I decided to get some rest as they would call me back if things changed.

The Man had been waiting all this time for me and we went home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.