Saltburn Pier

Saltburn yesterday and the pier and the incoming tide gave me a first opportunity to try out a long 30 sec exposure. It's for the last of the Photography with Pixels competitions of the year and I thought it was worth engaging with, but now I'm not quite so sure! Thirty seconds is a long, long time and even with the application of a very dark filter things still can go very wrong (like the tripod being blown in the wind). I Googled 30 sec exposures yesterday evening to see what other people do and there seems to be quite a lot of `painting with light' (which doesn't inspire me) or seascapes at dawn or dusk with or without a pier. I liked the extra colour of the sunset/ sunrise in some of these images but think it would have to be sunrise here as we're on an east facing coast. Though I didn't think the weather forecast justified the thirty minute drive this morning! So here I am watching the view out of the window as the sky darkens following a brief flash of early morning colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.