River of Flowers

By doffy

Ancestors

The soldier in this photo is my paternal grandmother's brother, Hugh Hughes born in 1878. The other gentleman is his father, my great grandfather, John Hughes (1843-1919).

My new cousin had brought this and a couple of other photos which I was able to copy with my iPad. We had a long chat over coffee and have added a few more members of the family to our common family tree.

It had rained all morning but the weather improved by early afternoon. I cut a red cabbage from the garden, they were planted exactly a year ago and the caterpillars have munched the outer leaves, but after cleaning it up we had a very tasty pickle to accompany our cheesy potatoes for dinner. Also had apple and blackberry compote for dessert, might as well use these wonderful free fruit :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.