Look at me!

Went along the foreshore from Southend, Snells Beach, to Algies Bay. On the way I saw a large male putangitangi standing on the sand of our beach. Initially on one leg. Then in this grand pose. He then began calling loudly, and urgently. A female putangitangi flew rapidly over the top of him and he followed too fast for me to organise a shot of them in flight.

They landed back down the beach still calling loudly. At first I thought that they were concerned about their ducklings with me being on the beach, and were trying to distract me. Later, I realised that I was being too egotistical. They were almost certainly unaware of me. He postured and preened, and swept his beak in the shallow water. She stayed away up the beach until finally she began to approach him and the two of them continued their ritual.

I left them to it, and went on round the point to Algies before heading up the cliff and back to the beach house, lunch and then letters to write.

Now off to Matakana to the movies and dinner afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.