Rewarded for taking an early run

Overnight, New Zealand shifted to Daylight Saving Time for the next six months. Meant that S' cousin who had an early flight to Queensland this morning to work there for three weeks, had an hour's less sleep than he anticipated.

Because my rising time was determined by wanting to continue my Sunday Sunrise series, the clock was unimportant.

When I got up, the clouds were heavy and dark in the east, scattered in the west, and there were almost no clouds overhead. I contemplated giving in, and then decided to try for a photograph taken at the time of the sunrise, whether there was anything much to see or not. As I ran back from Whisper Cove (with nothing to stop me for a photo, I had got there more quickly than expected), it was still before the official time of sunrise.

The tide being out, the low light produced silvery winds of water out to the blue of the bay. I was feeling very satisfied, when the sun started to break through the clouds. About 10 minutes after "sunrise", this is what I saw. I have cropped it, making it a little more like a panorama than a landscape shot.

In the morning newspaper the leading political news was that the leader of the Labour Party has resigned, and then announced he intends to stand for re-election. I find it sad when people are unable to let go and accept that their chance to do something has gone and they should let another person have a go; perhaps even support that other person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.