Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Haweswater-less

Well, 2000 blips without a gap! Not the clever sort of stuff I like to do for these special balloon days. No clever Photoshoppery! The only possible claim to anything clever is walking across the bottom of a lake!

It's been such a dry summer that the water level is the lowest it's been for at least 2000 days! I have had really had a lot going on this week and I only realised on Wednesday that I needed to count up my holiday blips and find out when the big day would be!

To repeat what I said the last time the water was low:- "This is the reservoir created in the 1920's to supply Manchester with water. A dam was built across the valley and before it could be flooded in 1935 the people of Mardale had to be rehoused and their farms, homes, pub and church demolished. All the bodies buried in the churchyard had to be exhumed and reburied at Shap. What a job that must have been!"

The weather wasn't great this morning but I thought it was an ideal day to blip something seldom seen, the road of a village rarely walked. A very small, bright green plant has colonised this area, something rather like pond weed.

Other than visiting a photography exhibition and making some useful contacts, it hasn't been a good day. The hours spent at the Infirmary were heartbreaking. The Mother is physically as good as she's been for over three months, but her mind was elsewhere, and not in a nice place. Her stories were about happenings that worried and frightened her. I just couldn't convince her it wasn't real, that alienated me from her, the last thing I want.

Anyhow! Thanks for 2000 wonderful days here. I love it, it has changed my life. Recently I just haven't been able to comment much and I have over 500 unread notifications! Sorry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.