From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Hair-raising problems!

I am feeling much better today thank goodness. I slept really well last night aided my a couple of medicinal pints of Abbot Ale in the West Kirk.

The place was packed last night and almost everyone I spoke to was in Ayr for a golfing weekend. There were even the usual group of retired gentlemen who come over from Northern Ireland a few times per year and stay at the Glen Park (home of the Ayr Brewing Company). It would seem that just as you get kids playing tennis in the parks after Wimbledon fortnight and people enrol in dance classes after Strictly Come Dancing begins, both keen and occasional golfers shine their clubs and polish their balls before heading off on golfing breaks when the Ryder Cup is on.

Watching Highway to Heaven was my usual Sunday entertainment this morning. I prefer it to going to mass as you can check out people's blips, eat sandwiches and slurp tea at the same time!

In the middle of the afternoon, mom and I went out for a stroll into a day which felt balmy and summery. We did a full circuit of the town and mom suggested we popped into the West Kirk for a cuppa on the way home. The tea is a bit like dishwater in there so I bravely forced down a couple of pints of Abbot Ale and mom had two glasses of Pinot Grigio. Mom said when I was halfway down my first pint that the way the hairdresser had cut my fringe this time - shorter than usual making me look shocked - I looked about 17. Marvellous. Not! Pity about my 43 year old arse to go with it.

Seriously, I think I'd better stick my head in a grow bag overnight in the hope my fringe has a growth spurt over the next couple of days. It really isn't fair!

We went back home after that for steak and chips which we managed to cremate together.

Mom didn't like any of my pictures from earlier, so under the cover of rapidly descending darkness, we rushed down to the beach to catch the dying light over the sea and Heads of Ayr.

Go large....

Track? This song from David Bowie was pouring out of a car window when we were walking along Sandgate earlier - Sorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.