Connemara Bog Country

Between the Bens and the Beaches of Connemara are to be found its famous Bogs, mile after mile of peaty tussock land dotted with thousands of tiny lakes. Leaving Clifden and driving to Galway - where TJ dropped me off to catch my train (just!) to Dublin and flight home - we explored some tiny back roads which traversed this wild open landscape. The only people we saw were turf cutters. There is most definitely a feeling of this being a place lost in time, old ways of living still surviving. We've met many people this week who have landed here by chance and ended up staying. It's easy to understand why. It was hard to leave.

I took a walk from Heuston station to catch the bus to the airport from Connolly Street and met some wonderful characters on the way. I love Dublin for street photography. I chose to post something from Connemara today but I was tempted to go for In Search of a Guinness or Checking the Timetable. Some faces are quite irresistible. Jude and I ended up chatting on the bus. I'm not the first to stop him and ask for a photograph. He actually appears in a famous artwork called Dublin's Last Supper, chosen on the street by the artist/photographer John Byrne for the part of Bartholomew. Again, I could understand why. He was a little lost in time too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.