but the sight of the stars makes me dream

Day 30 of the September Song Challenge - ending the month long challenge with 'Starry, starry night' (or rather 'Vincent') by Don McLean

Of course there weren't stars visible in our sky for the past three nights :-) This is a view of this morning's sky at 7 am combined with a image of a couple of throw on stars for table decoration made today, and a liberal use of coloured gradient and artistic filters to then get the kind of sky with rounded globule stars reminding ever so slightly and amateurishly of Vincent van Gogh's starry night paintings. The first one he painted, Starry night over the Rhone, is my favourite and I was lucky enough to be able to study it from quite close-by when it was displayed in the 'Dreams and Reality' exhibition about the Impressionist paintings collections from the Musee d'Orsay which came to the National Museum Singapore from Oct 2011 to February 2012. Here's a picture of one of my collegue guides giving a tour there. I learned from her that the reflection of artificial gas light lamps (which was a new thing just then) from Arles in the river makes your eyes move around the painting and so keeps you involved while looking at the painting. As you can see from the picture, the quote by Vincent van Gogh (from a letter to his brother) was used above the painting at the exhibition.

Thanks very much for sticking by me while I was doing this challenge and while I didn't have the time to follow up with all your journals. And thanks Lorna, for this challenge :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.