Winter beach life

Up bright and early to allow plenty of time to get to Beaumont Hospital for the first of my cardiac rehab sessions, but still managed to head up there in a bit of a rush. I stuck to my guns and walked there and back, which meant I was the last of the group of six to get there, while the nurse in charge had already begun her introductory remarks about the heart and how it works and how it can be exercised. That done, we all got our heart monitors to attach and slip into their pouches so we could be kept an eye on electronically. The rest of the session consisted of having each machine demonstrated and then getting a chance to try them all. The whole thing was excellently organised and professionally done. Very impressive, I must say. I think this is going to be good (I heard later that things will finish with a repeat of the stress test which was done prior to today, so before-and-after comparisons can be made. It will be interesting to find out how things compare when the ten weeks are up.

By the time I got back home I really felt that I'd had a good workout, so I took it easy until lunch time, did a bit of work, and treated myself to a refreshing nap later on. I'd been invited to a cousin's place for an evening meal, so I decided to leave home a good bit earlier than necessary, get some more exercise and fresh air, and fit in a bit of blipping. Dollymount Strand was windy and chilly, but still there were a few hardy souls there doing their parasurfing thing. I thought to myself that perhaps they weren't feeling the cold because of their wet suits, but then I noticed that they were in bare feet. I'd rather them than me.

The cousinly meal was great. This is my favourite cousin we're talking about. We've spoken by phone and emailed one another since I got out of hospital, but it's a good few years since I've been in her place and seen her children. I managed to restrain myself and not trot out the old 'you were only this high the last time I saw you' comments which I know from personal experience really annoy adolescents and young adults. It was all great crack, the chat was mighty. I came back home full of the joys of family.

All in all, a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.