Littlepat

By Littlepat

Feeling very delicate

So as I approach the last few days before the scan and the end of the first trimester we have decided to share our good news with a small group of close family and very good friends. To say the reactions have been mixed is an under statement. So let's take it in the best way I can, the good, the bad and the damn right ugly !

The good? My Best friend is over the moon. She would love another child but circumstances currently prevent her expending her family. My parents are very excited, worried for my health but very pleased to be getting another grandchild. All good so far.

The bad? I had to let my boss know as I have been felling horrendous and had to leave a meeting to run to the ladies, his reaction.... Said congratulations then said he was pleased as he thought I was sick or I had a problem, the sickness being hangovers. Oh!

The ugly? Mother in law, oh no! Hands to her face. Oh no! Really? Oh well, never mind! I had to state yes we are pleased, yes it was planned and no I would not be giving up work permanently. Had to go on to explain that I enjoyed working, I love being me not just mummy and that I felt I was a good role model for them to watch growing up. Yes have a family and still have a "career" not just give everything up that I have worked so hard to get. Her reaction made me feel so sick.

So tonight I am in bed. Couldn't face dinner, mixture of "morning sickness" - read all day sickness, along with a real feeling of disappointment and anger. Not only do some people think they can have these opinions but feel they have a right to tell me when I am feeling at my most vulnerable.

I am determined not to let these people get to me. Normally I would react to them and let them know how I am feeling, but I have kept my head rose above it and I am still smiling. I have a loving husband, lovely little family that is growing. I will raise my children to consider others feelings. Treat others as they wish to be treated. Maybe old fashioned but manners cost nothing and you always get further in life by opening doors than letting them slam shut behind you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.