mail art movie!

Yesterday I worked on a short video to share all the mail art I made in September -about 15 pieces. This project started out as an exchange between myself and two friends. We share mail art on a roughly monthly basis. One friend lives in the UK, the other in Michigan and we know each other only via email and postal mail; we met in an online collage class about four years ago and just really hit it off.

We started with an idea that Jo had seen for a one piece, folded envelope note. When I started making the two for my friends I decided to make more and send them off far and wide. Besides Julie & Jo's, these arty envelopes traveled to Texas, a couple to Florida, one to Scotland and a record number of 9 mail art envelopes went to Australia -I have a few blip friends there! Isbi and Walking Womabat even blipped their envelopes!! I have heard from all but 2 recipients that they have been received -hope they all make it!

My blip is a screen shot from the video I made. When I do things like this; make the art, take process photos and finished photos and then later take the photos and create an animoto slideshow video with music and transitions, it is so satisfying to me. I feel like I have taken all of my talents of art and photography and rolled them all into one delicious package! The video is now on YouTube -I hope you enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.