A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Close Knit Fabric

I am dedicating this blip to my beloved Taxman. We've been together for so long now it's getting harder and harder to recall a time before we knew each other. He's a lovely human being and has some amazing qualities that I admire. He can fix anything. He never rests. He is amazingly responsible and dependable. He works hard. He's real. He's a silly grandpa.

I can still remember the day I first laid eyes on him. He was in 8th grade and I was in 6th. He was one of three drummers from the school band who played the drum roll for our weekly assembly on Friday mornings. I'm pretty sure I fell in love with him that first time I saw him and I'm so glad I did. We didn't actually meet until four years later, but I've never forgotten that good-looking 8th grade drummer. He no longer plays the drums, or any other instrument, but that's okay with me.

It's no wonder that the house feels so empty and quiet when he's not home. We are like a close knit fabric, even when we are apart. I've learned that absence does not make the heart grow fonder, it only makes it lonely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.