... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

St. James's Park: Cormorant with a Fish!

See the fish's impressive dorsal fin in large ("L").

I struggled to choose today... I went to St. James's Park this afternoon to visit the micro-geese (Ross's geese) one last time before I go back to Oxford on Tuesday. I'm going to see the Goosles tomorrow so I hope that they're on best behaviour (they were snoozling when I went to visit them today...).

Anyway, St. James's Park was fantastic! It was a chilly day, but bright and sunny which made for fun photography. I saw birds that I've not seen there before (such as a mandarin drake in spectacular breeding plumage) and saw other birds much more closely than I have before (such as little grebes and fulvous tree ducks). I went with this one for my blip because it is probably most difficult to reproduce... This was taken a second later.

Oh, and I saw a young fox exploring in broad daylight on arriving home...

I've uploaded a whole load of other shots to my Flickr (right from this male hooded merganser in breeding plumage). I so nearly blipped a micro-goose, so please do take a look at them if you want to see something adorable.
Highlights:
Fulvous tree duck: Up close; Preening; On one leg
Ross's geese: Largest male; All four together; Grazers [= blip alternative]
Cormorant: Beautiful water 1; Beautiful water 2; Dramatic diving; Diving (and click right for a series of diving/underwater shots)
Little grebe: With food; Shaking dry; Diving
Ruddy shelduck: Sleepy; Strutting
Smew: Preening; Sleeping

p.s. I'm sorry for my (total) lack of comments recently: I've been busy/distracted getting things in order for university and catching up with people, so my blip time has taken a back seat. I very much appreciate your comments, and hope to catch up with your journals soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.