The Red Kite

I felt a bit worse for wear this morning after last night's impromptu blipmeet but it was the most beautiful morning and I decided to get out for a long run rather than a bike ride - encouraged by a couple of good outings enjoyed in Ireland the week before last. Having backed off the cycling a bit I'm beginning to find my legs again. I'm really hoping I can do a few fell races this autumn. I ran up through Middleton Woods to Round Hill and along to Beamsley Beacon before descending into Addingham and then climbing back up again to return high along the edge of the moor (even discovering an old stone track I'd never noticed before). With a few minor detours along the way it must have been close to 15 miles, the longest run I've done all year. I'm now feeling the effects. In a serious way!

I had to call a stop on the climb to Round Hill to watch this wonderful Red Kite perform. They are mesmerising creatures, the most agile and perhaps the most beautiful of all our birds of prey. It is astonishing how close this species came to extinction. Research has suggested that the entire population of birds in 1977 emanated from just one female. After being totally wiped out from England at the end of the 18th century they are now making a remarkable comeback. I see them regularly while I am out running and it's hard not to think that they take an interest. This one today spent quite a while gliding around checking me out before it moved on.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed yesterday's blip as much as I had hoped. I wasn't entirely sure about it! I am definitely going to get the shot printed up to a decent size to see how it looks enlarged. Thanks so much for the encouragement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.