LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Incompetence

The little lake in the road outside my morning toast stop remains.
Here is the scenario:-
a) Despite the sinking surface of the road beside the bus stop, the council white and yellow line brigade come to repaint these lines last Friday.
b)The next day the road works brigade come and dig up the same bit of road to fill in the concave bit.
c) They put in the first filling of asphalt and then realise they have cut through a water pipe, but fail to inform anyone. They depart.
d)The Metropole cafe phones the roads people who say it has nothing to do with them - better get in touch with the water people.
e) The water people say that since the complaining people have water, then it's not an emergency and will be dealt with in the next 3 days
f) The houses adjacent to the leakage and higher than ground level have no water as the pressure has dropped, but they must do the complaining in order for some action to be taken.
So far the little lake remains intact and there are no workmen visible. A charming little tale of bureucratic incompetence.

Despite the chill in the air,I persuaded his Lordship to leave his computer and stroll into town with me for a coffee. However because of my incompetence I managed to lose him somewhere amongst the crowds and so spent an unexpected morning on my own, blipping without a single complaint.

It turned out that while he sidestepped into a post office and got lost to me, I found my cheesy blip and he later got his hair cut.
Everyone happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.