Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nothing but blue skies...

Some of you may remember this song, originally sung by Ella Fitzgerald then by Willie Nelson. It seemed apt for the day.

"blue skies
Smiling at me
Nothing but blue skies
Do I see
"

I decided to take advantage of another cool morning and drive to Boca Ciega Millenial Park for some photos. I had my pick of birds this morning but decided on this osprey because ...well, I just liked it! I must have seen 20 of them in my walk, as well as great egrets, great blue heron, a sun bathing anhinga and a dumpster diving squirrel. To tell the truth, it took all of my self-discipline to come back home and continue unpacking.

Had some excitement last night (hey, not that!). I awoke around 3 to the unmistakable sound of a pack of coyotes yipping and "singing" in the field next to our townhome. Couldn't see 'em, but there is no mistaking their sound. Hubs has heard them a time or two since he's been here, but it was a first for me. Both cats were on the bed, looking bug-eyed. Pretty cool.

We are going to enjoy Carol's kindness again tonight since she brought us enough food for two dinners (thank you, Carol.). Isn't Blip an amazing place? I have met some people here whom, I suspect, will be lifelong friends.

I discovered another thing to like about FL today - you can buy wine in the grocery store! In NJ you have to go to a liquor store. This makes up for the do-it-yourself gas pumps.

Well, I am off to unpack a few more boxes. Tomorrow afternoon the cable company is coming out to hook out our TV's and add some things to our service. I am hoping to get out in the morning for some birds and photos. Maybe the beach this time...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.