Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Witness...

A day of emotions...

Following a day of love and laughter.

Kura and I had a wonderful day yesterday, continuing into the evening where we consumed way too much wine, reminisced about our many years of friendship and ate a meal that any 5* restaurant would be proud to serve. Thanks to Kura for finding a wonderful recipe for pork loin stuffed with spinach and Gruyere, which we served with fresh sauteed corn from the farm, a tossed salad, more wine, and a freshly baked apple crisp. A perfect evening!

Up this morning, and off to the diner to have breakfast then a little retail therapy and home to sit on the deck for awhile. Where Kura spotted a small animal at the edge of the woods...

And this is where the day took a turn...

The animal turned out to be a badly injured raccoon, a young one. It could barely walk, but somehow managed to drag itself to the edge of the woods. I called the police who called animal control who sent their guy over (took about an hour, during which time I had to keep the neighbor's cats from trying to attack the poor injured raccoon). Kura had to get back to the city to drop her rental car, so I sat in the garden, never taking my eyes off the woods where the little raccoon was hiding.

The guy from animal control was wonderful. He talked gently to the little creature as he got the lead on its neck. He ultimately got it to the truck and now the little guy is on his way to the Small Animal Rescue. The AC guy said that the raccoon has a wound on one of its rear legs which looks badly infected. The folks at the rescue will make a determination as to whether he can be saved - if so, they will treat him and keep him there until he is able to be released. If not, they will humanly euthanize him. And either way, his life is going to end better than it would have had Kura not spotted him.

I cannot bear to see animals suffer. It touches some part of me that I can't even really describe, but some of you will know exactly what I mean. When the AC guy left, I sat down in the kitchen and I sobbed. Which is probably kind of silly - I mean, after all, it is only one little raccoon. Probably the offspring of one of the raccoons I've done friendly battle with over the years in an attempt to keep them off the bird feeders. But he was in pain and I am sure he was terrified and my heart broke to see him trying to drag himself into the woods.

The animal control guy said he'd let me know what happens to the raccoon, and he gave me his card so I can call him. I don't believe his chances are very good, but I am keeping fingers crossed that the rescue folks will be able to save him.

So that is my day of emotions...and it was witnessed by the one of Lemmy's babies, from a safe spot on the rock wall.

Meanwhile, Hubs is doing well in his second race of the day, a 4-hour endurance race. He and his team-mate are currently holding second place in their class in the race with slightly less than one hour to go. He finished 4th in his race this morning. This is their last race of the season, so I'm glad that they are racing so competitively - and that they are having so much fun. And, I will be very happy when he's home tonight, however late that may be.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.