creative lenna

By creativelenna

a gift

My friend Kathy Oravec teaches Nia fitness (on the beach!). If you've been following me for any amount of time, you've most likely seen her photo here on my journal. She also facilitates Conscious Movement, which I just blipped about yesterday. She is a wonderful, beautiful friend and we have shared so much over the past 3 years.

Kathy uses a sign-in sheet for her Nia classes, which is kept protected in a folder that she carries to class. Her original folder was getting ragged and I offered to extend it's life with paper & taping. A number of months later it was falling apart from use and Kathy asked me if I might be able to resurrect it? Sure -but I might just chuck it and start anew at this point -agreed!

This is the back of the folder, (large) there are more photos on the front and one on the inside, as well as pockets for information and sign-in sheets and even a spot for her business card! I covered everything with clear tape for durability, and if it wears away over time it will be easy to make another one with new photos! I bought a number of folders in a packet, I have tons of photos and I like to make things.

It made me think of the term Maker Culture that I have heard so much of recently. Kathy needed a new sign-in sheet holder? I told her I could make one! It is part of me to make things, it gives me peace and happiness. On the back of the folder there, bottom left there is a quote I added:

PEACE
It does not mean to be in a place where there is no
noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the
midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.

My first Nia class on Siesta Beach since Kathy took a break at the end of June is tomorrow morning!!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.