Clean

The result of another misspent few hours.

I decided that bubbles would be a good topic for "clean". I don't have any grandchildren so there's no handy pot of bubbles with built in wand for me to use. The first problem is to make a wand. I call on Igor just like I did in the old days before he became a blipper, too busy to help his mistress. I must have caught him at a good time because he went off into the garage to try to make a wand out of a wire coat hanger. After a few minutes he produces a hoop almost big enough for me to jump through (exaggeration!) which wouldn't fit in my chosen pot of bubble mix and would have made bubbles big enough to bring down aircraft (no exaggeration!). I suddenly remember I once made a wand from a zip tie and within seconds I had made one the right size. I must be getting the hang of having no trusty helper to come up with ideas for me and maybe the large hoop will come in handy for something one day.

The next problem is bubble mix. Ideally it should be water, washing up liquid and glycerin. (Note to self: put glycerin on the list of things to buy). I trial and error the strength of my mixture and eventually I get some bubbles. They're not very long lasting but if I get one high enough into the air it lasts about 3 seconds till it lands on the kitchen worktop. After tens of shots, a lot of camera waving and a lot of patience I have about three blurry bubble images. I decide that I might be in with a better chance if I catch the bubble on the wand and blip it while it's my captive. This works better but the backgrounds are distracting. A piece of black card and a faster shutter speed help but bubbles are wobbly so it's hard to get the image of the bubble sharp. It's also hard not to get your own reflection in it. I retreat with the intention of making another attack at some later date.

This is my best clean and creative selfie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.