Deodar Cedar

It's funny how one thing leads to another. I'm not sure if its ADHD (attention defect hyperactivity disorder), inspiration or avoidance of the laundry that produced this picture.

I was standing at the bottom of the driveway waiting for Cindy to pick me up for Pilates class this morning when I noticed the tall doedar tree in the garden next door. What I really liked about it was the shape of its trunk, so I took a picture of it with my phone

Home again and seeking inspiration for some painting, I was going through my photo albums, when I ran across a picture of the bookshelves, a sort of modular tansu arrangement from my Berkeley office.In my haste to recreate everything in a new space when we moved, I wound up with a shorter, less pleasing design. It was necessary to place the boxes in a mirror image to the Berkeley arrangement in this house, which was a bit like putting together IKEA furniture by reading the wordless instructions upside down! I wound up with two boxes left over.

Of course rearranging the shelves/boxes involved locating a hammer and some pliers, and removing everything from the shelves and stacking it all over the office. Constant references to the picture I snapped in Berkeley were necessary, but because the computer had been unplugged for hours during this process, it died and had to be recharged.

I made a little space amongst the piles of books, dolls, baskets, pots of brushes and pens and pencils and baskets to do a quick painting of my doedar while the computer recharged. Although the goal had been to create a nice orderly place to paint with everything within arm's reach, I wound up hunched over a pad of paper on my lap, reaching up from the short desk chair to the tall desk where the paints were nestled between piles of books and old magazines. I gave myself fifteen minutes, which turned into an hour….

Now that I am finally about to post this, I seem to have lost the hammer, as well as any interest in the reorganization process, I think I'll leave it until tomorrow and join OilMan for a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.