Baseball is Not for Everyone...

Perhaps OilMan is an exception, or perhaps he was just distracted from the boredom so clearly demonstrated by the dogs by me lurking around with my camera….

Our television room is the only room in the house which is quite dark…except for the french doors out to the patio. Taking a picture of black dogs on a dark brown couch in a dark room with one bright spot seemed the ultimate challenge as I continue to plow through the mysterious workings of my camera.

I went to the dermatologist's office where the stitches were removed from my arm.. It looks like someone took a bite out of it. I'm certain that I could have done it myself, but probably not as quickly and efficiently as the nurse did. Is she a nurse? Who knows these days? Doctor's offices are filled with people who all look like they are about twelve years old and wear street clothes, so it's impossible to get any clues as to their status. 

Since I was in and out of that office in ten minutes, I decided to take it as a positive sign, take a deep breath and and storm the bastions of the front desk in another one doctor's office. My insistent charm worked. I finally liberated my prescription, if not the more charming aspects of the receptionist's personality. She is a loooong way from  looking like she is twelve  She would probably be more friendly and efficient if she did.

It used to be that you went to a doctor called a 'general practitioner' who took care of most of your health needs. These days, they won't even take a splinter out of one's thumb without ordering an x-ray, prescribing an antibiotic and telling you to go away  come back if it doesn't come out by itself. This happened to me when we first moved to Santa Rosa.  

Now specialization seems to have trickled down to veterinary practice. We have been referred by our vet to a doggie ophthalmologist, because Ozzie has a droopy eyelid. 'Seeing life through your pet's eyes', her card says. I don't think so.

I am SO liking forward to a trip to Yosemite coming up….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.