A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Trying something new

As with many other folk, I am being encouraged to experiment more with photography since joining blip. Pre-blip I pretty much always had my camera on auto and rarely did any processing beyond red-eye removal. One thing that has been on my mind to try is selective colour - I'm not sure that is the correct name for it but I'm sure you know what I mean.

So today I found out how to do it and went out to take a picture I could experiment on. This scene is one I have been thinking about taking as I received a painting of it for Christmas.* As risky as it might seem to be inspired by raheny-eye twice in as many days I have attempted an improvement on yesterday's theme. This time I at least found all 3 colours.

Feels good to have learned something new and for no particular reason other than fun and creativity.

Other than that another nothing day. Weather has been grey and wet. Back has said no to pretty much anything and will no doubt complain loudly at going to the cinema this evening. However, tickets are already booked in the new swanky cinema at Westfield and hopefully Colin Firth and A Single Man will be distracting.

Just recalled something my mom said to me once (in frustration) when I was a teenager - "the trouble with you is there no grey, only black and white". No idea what the specific context was but is close to how my work seems to be at the moment - either brilliantly productive or bugger all. I like to think I occupy the grey space a little more now I am older, or at least acknowledge its existence, but perhaps not.

Thank you for the kind words of support yesterday - the rehearsal went really well, good progress was made and it was a lot of fun. More new stuff just for fun and creativity.

I can recommend it
Lesley x


*when we have decided what colour to decorate our living room and have arranged for someone to decorate it and the picture is finally hung I will probably blip it. Don't hold your breath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.