Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Goodbye Cyprus!

Wow. What a morning! Another very early start because we wanted to be up and showered, and had a load washed and hung out before we got to an 8:30am meeting! Fortunately it only lasted an hour, so plenty of time to drive past the Promenade for one last game of air-hockey, but sadly we were too early!

Had a bit of trouble finding the car hire depot to return the car and in the process, had less fuel than we should have handed it back with. I think Thrifty in Cyprus definitely have a scam on. Hidden and extra charges plus they initially offered us a car which would be illegal to drive in the UK. They won't have our business again!

On a happier note, we got into Duty Free and G spotted this display - so that was my blip sorted! The exact message required for BCAM. It is great to see people around the world doing special things in October. Even the man at check-in had a pink ribbon on.

I have to say it is great to be back home though - not least because of *air-conditioning* !!! Appreciating the wide roads, the orderliness of populated areas and the splashing out on lighting up public areas. Cyprus is great but big energy conservation means that when the sun goes down, there is very little light! Even the neighbours downstairs sat around a table in the evenings by the light of a small candle. Not my thing I'm afraid! I like light.

Sorry for lack of comments for a week... I am on a big catch up but it may take me a few days. Thank You for continuing to visit my journal and leaving lovely stars and comments! :) To quickly answer some questions I was asked yesterday, I am NOT moving to Cyprus any time soon; certainly not with the things we have found out on this trip. I need to stay in Dubai quite a bit longer, or make a fortune!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.