Sun magic

A sudden burst through of the sun this morning during the fungi tour in the Sonian Forest. We did find at least 30 different species, unfortunately hindered by massive showers in the last hour. I have no idea how I'm going to remember all about these fungi, which varied in size from small stripes and spots on leaves to enormous hoof fungi on alive tree trunks. Here's an example of a small jelly fungi, the small stagshorn, or 'geel hoorntje'= yellow horns, which will develop on dead wood of deciduous broadleaf trees. I'm so glad I decided to wear my Reeboks with the inlay soles instead of my new sturdy shoes, they would have been ruined by the rain and mud.

Thanks very much for your kind comment on yesterday's find. I didn't see any more of those great caterpillars today. And re the knee, I'm rather relieved that there are more options than an op for the moment, the very last thing I want right now is being even more immobile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.