Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Percussion Solo!

Another night at the Barbican Hall with the London Symphony Orchestra, to hear a new composition by Matthew King, Mendelssohn's E Minor Violin Concerto and Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique!

I nearly didn't make it to the concert at all - I had a panic attack on the way and thought I might be spending the evening in a layby near Princes Risborough, but I'm jolly glad I did get there since it was a very fine concert.

I took this picture just before the orchestra arrived - the Wonderspouse was urging me to put the camera away, so I did it as quickly as possible, but still managed to capture this percussionist doing a bit of last minute sorting before things started! He looks a bit lonely on that big stage all by himself I think!

Note the two bells in front of him - they were for the last movement of the Berlioz, which was absolutely splendid and is a total favourite of mine. I swear there were witches on broomsticks flying round the hall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.