A time for everything

By turnx3

Basket shop

Wednesday
I pass this shop quite often, when I am going to the river at Héricy, and I have been thinking for a while it would make a good blip. So this morning I made a slight detour before going to the gym and got my blip. I've still not got around to going into the shop - they seem to sell a variety of things, including maps and books on the Forest and region. This evening I have been doing some knitting and reading my book for book club on Friday - The Round House by Louise Erdrich. It's a good read, based in a Native American setting in North Dakota in the 1980s, centered around the character of 13 year old Joe, whose mother is subject to a brutal attack at the beginning of the story, leaving her traumatized. She shuts herself off from the world, never leaving her room, leaving Joe feeling alone and forcing him prematurely into an adult world for which he is ill-prepared. The story reveals the complexities of legislation and justice in these sort of areas, parts of which fall under tribal law, others under state law and still others under federal law. It's time for bed now, but I think I should manage to finish it tomorrow in time for book club!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.