TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

From the Diary of a Zanderling

While waiting for the next tram, I can start writing this journal. Of course, I also could do other things like this: save some cents by walking to the next stop. Or walk down to the pond and see what the coots are up for today. Or take my handy and call a friend or my sister. Or I could just do No Thing, Wu Wei. And mind breathing. But, Ah! there he is already!

Now I’m sitting on a back seat on my way to city centre. Quite the opposite direction from this morning. Mischa called us, very excited: “Do you know who is here playing all the time?” That must be a seal, I thought. “She is here right in front of me! I’m so happy. Could you ask Willemien for the 85-lens?” So, shortly after we were all at the beach. Curious to see the seal.

And there we stood, at high tide looking for a dark nose-head popping up in the surf, disappearing between and under the waves, sniffing. Mischa told she was so happy to experience this meeting. It gave here a new finishing line for her short story on mr. Roberts, who happens to meet a seal. A real gratification for overcoming her initial reluctance to leave the warm nest.

I too value these small&simple remunerations in ordinary life. The gifts of a morning rise in awareness. In spite of a wrong weather forecast. Instead of giving in to feeling tired. In spite of anything, any impediment, objection, other priorities, whatever. Sensing that unconscious wake up call.

I told about this experience this evening. We had a near spontaneous meeting with our neighbours: Rosa&Juan were so kind to invite us to meet and have a drink on the Boulevard. It was a wonderful surprise, sitting together near an open fire and hear about each others life. They too were glad to hear about the seal, as their grandson wants to be an “animal rescuer”. He would love to go to the beach a meet that seal popping up in the surf.

Hence my advise to the “seal-lover”. Take into account that your friend will not pop up where you expect him or her. Just go to Any Other part of the beach and dare to wait: your friend will join you as soon as you do No Thing anymore. Wu Wei, do your breathing exercise and before you look around: Ah, he/she is already there.
Oh yes, I nearly forgot: write your little piece of diary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.